Old Habits Die Hard

Last Monday and tonight make it three weeks back at boxing training for me, and I’m starting to get my eye in a little. There are a few old habits, however, that refuse to die. I blame them on wrestling.

In wrestling, I stay low and circle my opponent, looking for a moment to catch him off guard and with his weight on the wrong foot. When I shoot, I don’t reach far out with my hands, but keep them close in as much as possible, to prevent them getting caught and increase my power when I grab my opponent.

Boxing involves me doing practically the opposite. I have to stand much higher, throw my hands as far forwards as possible, and bob and weave forwards instead of circling. The problem is that wrestling is what I do naturally..boxing isn’t.

When I throw a punch, therefore, I don’t extend my arms. I keep them close by and throw short punches, which are of little use. Bizarrely, instead of stepping in, punching and stepping out, I circle my opponent as if we are wrestling! The result is that, when I throw a punch, I have no range and end up off balance and in bad positions.

It may be entirely the same but, to me, the footwork feels completely different. I know it will come with time, but it is frustrating at the moment.

Still, it’s all good fun, I’m learning a lot and getting fitter…I hope.

Leave a comment